chinadaily.com.cn| Updated: October 22, 2019

水天一色 王兴然 13583279396.jpg

Shinan district is Qingdao's administrative center and home to government agencies including the municipal government and liaison offices of the central and provincial governments. [Photo provided to chinadaily.com.cn]

Geographical location and acreage

Shinan district, situated in the south of Qingdao city, is located at 120°19' east longitude and 36°04' north latitude. Its western end is Tuandao Cape, with the other side across Kiaochow Bay in Huangdao district. It adjoins Maidao village of Laoshan district in the east, Shibei district in the north, and the Yellow Sea in the south. Covering an area of 30.01 square kilometers, the district is 12.7 kilometers long from the east to the west reaches, and 4.8 kilometers wide from south to north.


Shinan district, located in the monsoon region of the North Temperate Zone, has a monsoon climate of medium latitudes. Thanks to the effects of the southeast monsoon, ocean current and water mass from the sea, it also has a typical oceanic climate. The air is gentle and humid, the rainfall is abundant, the temperature is moderate, and the four seasons are distinctive. Its spring temperature goes up slowly, about a month later than inland areas. The summer weather is tepid and rainy, but there is no intense heat. The autumn weather is fine with the small amount of rainfall evaporating fast. It is windy and the temperature is low in winter, but it is not chilly. According to statistics from 2002, the average temperature of the hottest July is 25.3 degrees Celsius, and that of the coldest December is 1.9 degrees Celsius below zero. Its average annual rainfall is 424.6 millimeters.

Administrative division

The current Shinan district belonged to Qingdao district and Huiqian district of the Jiao'ao Concession in 1900, and belonged to Qingdao district and Taixi town of the concession in 1910. In 1922, the Chinese government regained sovereignty of Qingdao, and Shinan belonged to Qingdao district, Bieshu district and Xizhen town. In 1929, the Nanjing Kuomintang government ruled Qingdao, and it then belonged to the first district and the second district. In 1935, it belonged to Haibin district, Xizhen town, and Fushan district. In 1938, after the Japanese army's second occupation of Qingdao, it became Shinan Bao-Jia administrative district. In 1946, the Nanjing Kuomintang government regained its ruling over Qingdao, and Shinan district was established and became one of Qingdao's four districts; the name has remained unchanged. At the end of 1949, Shinan district was one of the seven districts of Qingdao. In 1954, the Fushan district was cancelled, and its Maidao, Fukang, Fuxi, and Tianjia villages were incorporated into Shinan district and the Fushan administrative office was set up. In 1956, Fuxi and Maidao, under the jurisdiction of the Fushan administrative office (later becoming a sub-district office, and a people's commune), were incorporated into Laoshan suburb. In 1963, the Taixi district was cancelled, and its five streets including Yunnan Road and Nancun Road were incorporated into Shinan district. And the Fushan People's Commune was incorporated into Laoshan county in the same year. In 1978, the Fushan People's Commune became part of the Shinan district again.

By the end of 2019, Shinan district had 11 streets: Badaxia, Yunnan Road, Zhongshan Road, Badaguan, Zhanshan, Hong Kong Middle Road, Badahu, Jinmen Road, Zhuhai Road, and Jiangsu Road, as well as 50 communities.

1 2 >